A Life of Service

frequent the wilderness, & live a life of service,
for in these two, i’ve found a life full of purpose.
attributes passed on to me through “thank-you” notes in cursive, that said:
frequent the wilderness and keep living that life of service.

there’s much to do, no time to waste,
yet deep connection i’ve found with this place.
characteristics of my late aunt, i see in my face…
in my actions, & practicality for what’s at stake. 

keeping an eye out, lending a hand
to them friends who need help navigating unknown lands.
i’ll be here for you whenever i can,
just look out and touch the Light, and realize it’s all rather grand

she got heaved back into the cosmos,
only to emerge as pure Light…
that’s why we’re all awe-struck
star gazing late at night!

so blindfold me and put me in the forest
where coyote is howlin and we jump in with the chorus that says:
you my child, you are love.
you my brother, you are love.
you my sister, you are love

sometime since birth, realized i look like my aunt,
shooting for targets from whence the re-cognition began.
the fact that her traits are passed on down,
to Helena from Helen, whoa, the circle it goes round.
never to be forgotten but to remember is profound,
remember the beauty, the Light, & the rich whole sound
of that laughter!

frequent the wilderness, & live a life of service,
for in these two, i’ve found a life full of purpose.
…attributes passed on to me through “thank-you” notes in cursive, that said:
frequent the wilderness and keep living that life of service.

Leave a Reply

